WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org Logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
Managed by:
Axel Grubba
Founder
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about WordPress.org
What WordPress.org is best for?
How does WordPress.org compare to HubSpot CMS Hub?
What are the pros and cons of WordPress.org?
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
API Access
Asset Management
Collaboration Tools
Content Analytics
Content Archiving
Content Migration
Content Personalization
Content Preview
Content Scheduling
Customer Support
Customizable Templates
Drag and Drop Interface
E-Commerce Integration
Form Builder
GDPR Compliance
Inline Editing
Media Library
Mobile Editing
Multilingual Support
Plugins and Extensions
Responsive Design
SEO Management
Search Functionality
Social Media Integration
Tagging and Categorization
Template Management
User Roles and Permissions
Version Control
WYSIWYG Editor
Workflow Management
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 14, 2024
WordPress.org Logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 03, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KR
Karina R.
Visitor Services Assistant
Share
"Easy to use platform for writing"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is a very user friendly platform for writers. It provides a place for aspiring writers to showcase their abilities in a professional way. Many websites also use Wordpress so by allowing free access to their system sets writers up for success as they branch out with their writing.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes when I move my writing from Microsoft Word to Wordpress, there are extra spaces between paragraphs that I have to delete. When I then add images, in the first draft, it shows it exactly how I want it. But when it's published, there are extra spaces between the images and paragraphs. It's easy enough to edit and delete these spaces, but it's annoying that I can't delete the spaces in the first draft and must instead publish it before seeing where these extra spaces are.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress.org allows me to professionally promote my writing, track my views and play with layout and images. All of these are skills I'm trying to hone as I pursue a career in fashion writing.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 02, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CH
Clint H.
Founder
Share
"Best all around CMS"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Flexible for developers and publishers. Powerful in the right hands.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

With great power comes great responsibility. Too easy for bad developers to use poorly and give WP a bad name.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

WordPress works for everything for a brochure site, to an active blog, to the source of content for a mobile app.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 02, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EW
Ed W.
Founder / Owner
Share
"WordPress - mobile friendly, easy to use, configure and manage"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Flexibility of each theme. Now with the WordPress default Theme 2017 modifications can be saved within the WordPress native control interface. And for us developers, we can also still use child themes which saves code changes in a separate area. The many plugins allow for feature add-ons without the need to a develop customer code. WordPress and plugins offer continued upgrades needed to thwart hacking.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

All the built in features and plugin add-ons can tend to make the code bloated. Or the plugin is an overkill of what we need to implement. Many additional features we simply do not use. However, the ease of implementation outweighs this negative

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Use WordPress.org annual 2014-2017 themes are easy to install, modify and implement. Decreases both development and time to market.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 02, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Julie N. avatar
Julie N.
Project Manager
Share
"I use Wordpress everyday "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I know Wordpress like it's the back of my hand. From pages to posts, it's very easy to add content to your website with the Wordpress platform. Building out menus so an easy drag and drop, deleting pages is as easy as a click. You can schedule out blogs with ease and integrate social feeds by downloading and activating a plugin.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I dislike how difficult it is to build out columns, duplicate pages or posts, custom order things. But there are also plugins for that. The only thing is...sometimes developers stop supporting those plugins.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

website design for clients is through Wordpress. They are the CMS that drives the functionality of a web page.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 02, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RP
Ralfe P.
System Analyst
Share
"A feature-packed CMS with a vast community"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I love the back-end user interface, how easy it is to apply themes and the vast community of developers who contribute plugins. Wordpress is also very easy to install, keep updated, and content editing is also very quick and simple.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

There's not a lot that I dislike. However, one thing that does come to mind is that it is not always easy to add custom HTML tags to articles and pages, because often the WYSIWYG editor overwrites the HTML.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress is great for corporate websites, blogs, or even for managing more traditional static websites. It is also quite useful as a subdomain, or separate area of an existing website where it can be used for articles, a knowledge base, a professional blog, and so on. Also, with the wide array of plugins, it can be used for anything from a hotel reservation system to a photography portfolio.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 02, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Emily H. avatar
Emily H.
Executive Director
Share
"Easy platform to use for website "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Ease and simplicity for the user for management of the website

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

We have not found anything that we do not like about Wordpress.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Ease and simplicity of use

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Christine R. avatar
Christine R.
Digital Seamstress
Share
"Love WordPress!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Ease of use for both developers and clients.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The security issue is always coming back.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We build all of our websites in WordPress.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JS
Jesse S.
Content Creator
Share
"Hard Learning Curve But Worth The Investment"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I like the ability to buy or use free plugins to do practically anything with my site. Other websites host all their features, and this can be quite limited, but with all the Wordpress plugins, you can always innovate and update your site.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I don't like how the different themes change the entire user experience. Change your theme, and suddenly your settings change and your ability to change the color palette for the website is located in some obscure location in one of your tabs.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I've built a site to host my blog and begin building passive income through affiliate links.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RG
Randi G.
Founder
Share
"Easy to use, even for the not-so-technologically-savvy"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Ease of use of the product, with great and simple explanations, especially for someone like myself, who isn't the most savvy when it comes to technology and software. Tutorials online made it super easy to learn, just have to dedicate some time at the start. It's great when a company such as this can offer services to people for free and keep this, then offering more advanced features for paying customers. This is how you create loyalty to a company.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Nothing critical, except the time consuming nature when just starting to learn to use the product. However, I'm only a light user, so I cannot critique into the thorough nature of wordpress.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We used it for advertising our company; which has currently been on hiatus the last couple months. We will be coming back to wordpress once we kick the company back into gear. We also used it for keeping track of inventory, orders, and displaying our craftsmanship with high quality photos versus using facebook and instagram.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SP
Stephanie P.
Enterprise Executive
Share
"WordPress is easy and efficient"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I like the workflow of wordpress- it gives you direction and flow of information on pages you need to complete. It also is a visual-friendly tool which I personally like and think is especially helpful when designing a website.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes importing images and attaching links/ other websites had weird displaying capabilities.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Solved the problem of not having a website. Benefits are that it's very easy to create and maintain (make changes).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
WS
Web84 S.
Ceo, Seo, Webdesigner, Grafics, Social Media
Share
"Best Content Management System with strong, innovative Plugins and endless amount of support"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is easy and simple to use and at the same time it is very powerful, there are many possibilities to create great websites

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

There is nothing, so far, that I would really dislike.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Different kind of Websites. Every client is very satisfied with wordpress

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Santiago V. avatar
Santiago V.
Cofounder
Share
"Amazing flexibility and integration with almost everything"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

There is a huge community around Wordpress, with plugins, templates, integrations, etc. It's very easy to setup. It's completely flexible: you can use it as a indepent movie portfolio, ecommerce or business presentation. I mean EVERYTHING. It's easy to customize and there are ton of developers at low cost.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The backend it's the worse, I don't find it so intuitive or practical. PHP isn't such a new technology, probable not that efficient for massive or scalable projects.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are using it for ecommerce store, via WooCommerce. It's very flexible, you can change anything you want. Design isn't an issue: you buy a template for $40 and problem solved: mobile, desktop, tablet...everything looks nice and you can choose from a lot of designs. WooCommerce isn't that robust but has a very complete API (we want to manage it that way). It's easy to find all kinds of plugins (for tracking, integration with other vendors, SEO, optimization, etc.)

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KR
Kelly R.
Founder
Share
"Have your team share your work. "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

It is great for team blogs and marketing work.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It takes awhile to learn all the features. I have had to learn from teammates and play around with the website.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We wanted to market our work and campaign the #codeforall movement. It had helped us show the world the work that we were doing and increase awareness about the gap in Computer Science. More and more people had reached out to us about the opportunities to learn coding.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AB
Alexander B.
Founder
Share
"User Friendly"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy to work with. The standard for setting up landing pages and forms.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Some wording can be tricky but once you get the hang of it - awesome!

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Hosting landing pages for issue surveys and petitions.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 01, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DD
Danny D.
Magician For Private Parties And Corporate Events
Share
"WordPress Review"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I use Wordpress for my website and love it. I love that I was able to pick a template and use that for my site, which made it super easy. I'm not a web designer and having the template made the process a lot simpler for me.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

I don't like that I have to purchase support for my specific theme, Lezzatos. I many times come across technical issues with my site and wish I didn't have to purchase a different support system to fix this. Sometimes I'm unable to add photos to my home slider, which is very frustrating. I also find that my site shuts down from time to time for several minutes or hours at a time, but I'm not sure if this is a result of Wordpress or my host.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Wordpress to engage potential clients. They view the site either on their phones or tablets or computers. I show videos, photos and client testimonials on the site. I love the options to customize SEO, as it definitely helps to put my brand into words. It's also very easy to add pages at a moment's notice. I use that when I have special events coming up and want certain pages up temporarily. Overall, I use the site to establish a strong brand presence and showcase my work.

Visit website